DepEd School Calendar for School Year 2019-2020

The School Year (SY) 2019-2020 shall formally open on Monday, June 3, 2019 and shall end on Friday, April 3, 2020. It shall consist of 203 school days, inclusive of the five-day In-Service Training (INSET), the three days for the Parent-Teacher Conferences to be conducted within the school year, and the World Teachers’ Day, provided, that during the five-day INSET, students shall be given advance reading for the attainment of learning objectives.

Christmas break shall begin on December 15, 2019 and classes resume on January 6, 2020.

This is in pursuant to Republic Act No. 7797 or “An Act to Lengthen the School Calendar from Two Hundred (200) days to not more than Two Hundred Twenty (220) Class Days.” 
inclusive of the five-day In-Service Training and the three days for the Parent-Teacher Conferences (PTC) conducted within the school year.

READ: DepEd Memorandum No. 50, s. 2019 dated April 26, 2019 - Deped National Uniforms For Teaching And Non-Teaching Personnel For School Year 2019-2020

Private schools may deviate from DepEd's schedule but it must be following RA 7797, Section 3 (Start of the School Year) that states, “The school year shall start on the first Monday of June but not later than the last day of August.” Private schools must notify in advance their respective regional offices (ROs) regarding any deviation from DepEd's school calendar.

In preparation for the opening of classes for SY 2019-2020, the schools shall conduct the following activities:

  • Early Registration of learners, beginning on January 26 and ends on February 22, 2019 in the schools where they wish to study;
  • Brigada Eskwela from May 20-25, 2019 to enable the community and the school to prepare their facilities before the start of another school year;
  • Oplan Balik Eskwela from May 20-31, 2019 to facilitate the enrolment of learners; and
  • In-Servce Training (INSET) activities for teachers from May 27-May 31, a week before the opening of classes.

Official Deped School Calendar for School Year 2019-2020


2019 Regular and Special Non-Working Holidays

Regular Holidays
01 January 2019 (Tuesday) | New Year’s Day
09 April 2019 (Tuesday) | Araw ng Kagitingan
18 April 2019 (Thursday) | Maundy Thursday
19 April 2019 (Friday) | Good Friday
01 May 2019 (Wednesday) | Labor Day
12 June 2019 (Wednesday) | Independence Day
26 August 2019 (Monday) | National Heroes’ Day
30 November 2019 (Saturday) | Bonifacio Day
25 December 2019 (Wednesday) | Christmas Day
30 December 2019 (Monday) | Rizal Day

Special Non-Working Days
05 February 2019 (Tuesday) | Chinese New Year
25 February 2019 (Monday) | EDSA Revolution Anniversary
20 April 2019 (Saturday) | Black Saturday
21 August 2019 (Wednesday) | Ninoy Aquino Day
01 November 2019 (Friday) | All Saints’ Day
08 December 2019 (Sunday) | Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary
31 December 2019 (Tuesday) | Last Day of the Year

Additional Special Non-Working Days
02 November 2019 (Saturday) | All Souls’ Day
24 December 2019 (Tuesday) | Day Before Christmas

Malacañang will issue a Proclamation to declare national holidays for Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined. 

DepEd School Calendar for School Year 2019-2020 will be posted here as soon as it becomes available.